Tags

, , , ,

_MG_8924 as Smart Object-1

Thunderbird. Photo by Dewitt Jones Productions, 2007.

I know I focus a great deal on the history of the Lodge and George Whittell and I realized I am very overdue for a post about the grande dame of Lake Tahoe, the Thunderbird. Currently we are still raising funds to refurbish her engines; for more information on that project click the following link: http://thunderbirdtahoe.org/yacht-engine-overhaul

My goal for this post is to share some photographs you might not have seen before, so I dug into the archives and really explored the time when Bill Harrah owned her (1962-1978) and kept her at his Villa Harrah at Skyland Manor on the lake.  Here are just a few and more to come, I hope you enjoy!

– Jesse

PS – Next year is her Diamond Jubilee and we will have lots of fun things planned!

Villa from Lake (3)

Thunderbird docked at Villa Harrah. TLPS Archives.

Harrahs Pilothouse (1)

The pilothouse while under Harrah’s ownership. TLPS Archives.

Harrahs Interior (1)

Interior from Harrah’s ownership. TLPS Archives.

Leaving the Skyland dock. Note the “Skyland” on the transom. Whittell had “Tahoe” under the name. Today we only have her name. TLPS Archives.